Rideshare apps such as Uber and Lyft are popular for a reason; with a few taps of your phone, a driver will show up to your location and drive you wherever you need to go, eliminating the uncertainty of taking the bus or train.
Rideshare apps are not only accessible for passengers, but for drivers as well. The scary thing is that anyone with a drivers’ license can qualify to become a rideshare driver. Uber and Lyft conduct background checks and clean driving checks on their drivers, disqualifying any applicants who have recent reckless driving convictions or speeding tickets for over 20 mph over the speed limit.
However, a clean driving record is not a guarantee of safe driving, and it’s possible that your rideshare driver could exhibit carelessness or recklessness behind the wheel, resulting in an accident.
Our ridesharing accident attorney in Sherman Oaks has compiled some important information for passengers who are victims of rideshare accidents below.
Immediately Following the Accident
Unlike car accident attorneys in Los Angeles, most people are unprepared to deal with the aftermath of a car wreck. It’s stressful, and stress can overwhelm and create a fog that makes us forget the basics of communication.
If you’ve been in a rideshare accident, you have fewer responsibilities than the driver, but you should still check yourself and others for injuries. Even if you don’t feel hurt, you can have internal bleeding or brain damage, which don’t show themselves until hours, or even days, later. Because of this, you should ask the 911 dispatcher to dispatch an ambulance, if they haven’t already. Medical professionals can also create a report of your injuries which you can use to show your damages later in court.
Law enforcement officers will also arrive at the scene to create an accident report. In this report they will use eyewitness testimony and evidence at the scene to label who was the cause of the accident. You should speak to officers so you can obtain a copy of this report. The cause of the accident will be liable for your damages. If you are unable to get the other driver’s insurance information, the accident report will have it.
Hiring an Attorney
You should not seek compensation for your rideshare accident injuries alone. Always seek out the services of legal help for car accidents in LA. An accident injury attorney in Sherman Oaks will know the best avenues through which you can get financial compensation.
Suing the Rideshare Driver
If the driver has commercial insurance or a personal insurance policy with a provision for rideshare accidents, they should cover your injuries without the hassle of a lawsuit. However, many do not have this kind of insurance, and you will have to reach out to Uber or Lyft directly for compensation.
Uber and Lyft carry third-party liability insurance that covers their drivers for up to $1 million for personal injury lawsuits in Los Angeles. Please note that these policies are only applicable once the driver’s own insurance cap has been met. This ensures that all passengers who are injured as a result of a rideshare driver’s negligence can get adequate medical care without dipping into their own pockets.
In California, the AB5 law was passed, which made Uber and Lyft liable for traffic accidents their drivers cause. If you are injured in an Uber accident in California, you can sue the corporation for your damages.
Rideshare companies pump millions each year into their insurance policies, making it someone’s job to deliver as little financial compensation as possible to accident victims. Dealing with Uber and Lyft’s third-party insurance company can be tricky, and you should never contact anyone regarding your personal injury claim without the help of your Sherman Oaks lawyer for rideshare lawsuits.
Suing the Other Driver
In situations where the accident was the other driver’s fault, you and your car crash attorney should contact their insurance agency. The other driver’s insurance agency may reach out to you with a settlement number, but you should never accept because it’s likely a lowball offer.
Instead, work with your accident injury lawyer to add up your damages to get an idea of what your settlement should be. This includes medical bills, prescription drug costs, lost wages, reduced future earning capacity, and pain and suffering.
Statute of Limitations to File
You have to file your injury lawsuit within a certain period of time if you want compensation. In California, you have two years to bring a claim against the at-fault party. The clock starts ticking from the day of the accident.
In most cases, the time limit may vary based on the damages involved. To play it safe, you should meet with a ridesharing attorney in LA as soon as possible after your accident.
About Okhovat Law
Were you or a loved one in a recent accident? Did you sustain minor to severe injuries due to the negligence of another person? Any time you are experiencing an emotional, financial, or physical toll from an accident, you should work with an attorney to take legal action.
The multilingual legal staff at Okhovat Law Firm works hard to give clients the results they deserve. Several years ago, Anna Okhovat started her mission to establish a firm centered around personal injury law. Her goal is to provide legal counsel, support, and the highest level of care. Not only does this firm have a reputation for getting clients the results they need, but also for:
- Having a proven track record
- Providing one-on-one contact with clients
- Not charging fees unless the case is won
- Taking a personalized approach to every case
Whether you were injured in a car accident or slip and fall, or if you want to file a wrongful death lawsuit on behalf of a deceased loved one, you can feel confident with Okhovat Law on your side. Before, during, and after every legal consultation, we will answer any questions to provide you with the best service and support possible. Don’t wait and lose your opportunity to file a claim for compensation. Instead, give us a call at 310-362-6740 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.